Malaysian Association of Professional Secretaries & Administrators



Patricia Haroski, a secretary from Deerfield Illinois USA originated the National Boss Day in 1958. She wrote to IAAP (then the National Secretaries Association) headquarters in 1970….

“I had worked for a large company and notice that they never had a regular date set to pay tribute to our bosses. I made inquiries and through my network of secretaries, decided to establish a day in their honour. Reflecting on how her father helped his white-collar daughters and sons many times with their problems concerning work, I decided to register his birthday October 16th as ‘The DAY’.” Patricia pursued the US Chamber of Commerce in registering October 16th as National Boss Day. In 1962, Illinois Governor Otto Kerner proclaimed the day, a special tribute to all bosses globally.

The Boss-Of-The-Year award was initiated in 1976 by MAPSA (then Secretaries Society Malaysia) to achieve the following objectives :

  • To promote the awareness of the increasing role of the professional administrators and secretaries
  • To give due recognition to the most deserving boss for the cooperation and support given to the administrative and secretarial profession
  • To bestow a singular honour to the boss who has demonstrated the most ideal and professional relationship with his assistant/secretary at the work place
  • To recognise the personal and professional achievements of the boss

Mr. John C. Lewis (deceased)
Boss-of-the-Year 1967-1977

Tuan Syed Adam Al-Jafri
Boss-of-the-Year 1977-78

Manogaran Maniam
Boss-of-the-Year 1978-79
Dr. Peter C. Shephered
Boss-of-the-Year 1979-80

Dato’ Douglas K.K. Lee
Boss-of-the-Year 1987-88

Jerry W. Lee
Boss-of-the-Year 1988-89
Chia Siang Ee
Boss-of-the-Year 1989-90
Mr. Anthony Tean
Boss-of-the-Year 1990-91
Prof. Dato’Asmah Hj Omar
Boss-of-the-Year 1992 - 93
Prof. Madya Dato’Mohd Yunus Mohd Noor
Boss-of-the-Year 1993 - 1994
Jack Lim Ting Chai
Boss-of-the-Year 1994
Mr. Bo Martin Wearn
Boss-of-the-Year 1995-96

Tn. Hj. Mohd Yusof Ibrahim
Boss-of-the-Year 1996-97

En. Zubir Zainal Abidin
Boss-of-the-Year 1997-98
Mr. Paul Ong Teng Kek
Boss-of-the-Year 1999-00
Mr. John Smurthwaite
Boss-of-the-Year 2000-01
Mr. Wong Choong Kong
Boss-of-the-Year 2001-02
Datuk Hj Mohd Ilyas Zainol Abidin
Boss-of-the-Year 2014-15
© Copyright MAPSA. All Rights Reserved.
Best viewed with Internet Explorer 5.0 or above on resolution at 800x600.
Flash Player required.
Powered & Designed by : E Venture Design Enterprise